A Labour Child: Child Labour or Fortune?

The reality is beyond what we view.

Sharvari
5 min readNov 1, 2020

Across the world, there are billions of people who are doing labour work daily. They are paid much less wage than what we can imagine. In some developing nations, there are tremendous problems, people are getting paid 1$–2$ per day or even less. This reality is hard to absorb, but it is true. Therefore, labour-related issues are more disturbing, especially, when the children are involved i.e, the “Child Labour”.

When I was working in India, I use to lose my temper whenever I heard the news related to child workers. Back in my mind, I hated the fact, that children needed to work at the age where they should have books in their hands. Why are they dragged into the labour business when there are plenty of adults searching for jobs? But, one experience transformed my mind into believing, what we see is never a reality.

My workspace was located in a reputed corporate area, there was a tea stall nearby, which served absolutely delicious coffee. This will tickle your mind, but, yes I am a coffee person. Okay, without getting off track, let’s continue. I used to visit this place 2–3 times every day, so the vendors who were a duo of the mother (who was in her 60’s) and son (who was in his 30’s) knew my name, but never really gave a free coffee. Nevermind!

After a couple of weeks of vacation, I was all set to start the work again. That day, early in the morning, I stopped by, to have the delicious coffee which I missed so much. The lady after looking at me got excited and concerned at the same time, she truly started interrogating me. I must say, it was one of the sweetest gestures I have received in my life. While I was in between the conversation, I noticed a kid, who was around 12 years old, carrying the teacups and coming towards the stall. He kept all the cups near the sink and started washing it, the woman shouted, “Hey hero! Stop acting and start working”. I kind of raised my eyebrows and stared at the lady. Instead of questioning, I choose to leave. Reaching the office, I rushed towards my desk. After a small conversation with everyone on the team, I started narrating the incident to all my colleagues. To which they replied, the boy has been working there for a few days now. It really made me upset.

Until the next couple of months, just like most people, I observed and stayed quiet. This boy uses to wear the same clothes which were his school uniform, oversize shoes and flaunting around as if he is a star. Once my colleague waved and called him, “Hey Kid!”, to which he replied, “I am not your slave, help yourself”. The boy got offended, I believe. I was shocked and prompted, “Such an arrogant kid. What does he think about himself?”. Earlier, I was angry with the owner for keeping the child for the labour work, now I understand why she shouts at him. “Ill-mannered kid”, I shouted.

A few more months passed, this notorious kid who use to trouble all the people suddenly stopped coming. One day passed, then two days which then turned into a week. It was weird for me, even though I never liked the rude boy, I was concerned about him. So, I approached the lady and asked her about him. To which she said, “I enrolled him in a boarding school, where he will get better education and food”. I felt it was such a gentle and beautiful gesture. She then continued, “Poor kid, his mother was suffering from cancer, she took her last breath a few days ago. He was the only kid, his father drinks all the time. The kid has seen so much at such a young age. He attended school the early morning after school, he would reach home to give medicine and food to his mother. He then used to rush here for the work”.

Exhaling loudly and after a long pause, she utters, “I remember the day when he came to me in search of work. He said don’t pay me, rather get medicines for my mother. I will work as much as you want me to. He just melted my heart.“, giggling in between she said, “He was a real pain, I use to shout at him so much. Such a mischievous kid. He was fond of acting and always pretended while working. Luckily no one complained”. I was stunned by listening to the whole story. I praised the owner for whatever she did. To which woman responded, “I don’t earn a lot, just sufficient for living. But, when he came and held my hands and pleaded. I imagined his mother as my daughter. What I could really think of is saving two lives. Although, I couldn’t save one. The kid was literally loyal. Now, I took all his responsibility. God might want me to help him! Let’s see, how much I can to help him!”. After which she resumed her work.

The whole matter bothered me a lot. Everyone has a destiny, that child had so much struggle in his life and he chose to fight back. The lady and her son, who offered help, everything was connected. But, what if they both were not there? Would someone else have helped him? So many questions popped into my mind. Later, I thought why was the kid even working, why the woman was helping?

The next day, I asked the gentlewoman the same questions. Listening to which she smiled, “I said right, the kid was very genuine. At a young age, he was acting like a grown-up. The first day, I didn’t give him work. He stopped coming from the next day. Later, I visited his house and asked him why he didn’t come? To which he replied, I don’t want a favour. Free money won’t help my mom, my hard work will treat her. Right at that moment, I decided to treat him like an adult. I was harsh towards him, but, I saw him as my kid. Now as there is no one to look after him, I adopted him!”. I felt very emotional at that moment.

Not everyone’s life is perfect. But a helping hand is like a ray of hope in the darkness. One won’t lose anything just by helping, but remember that the pot of good deeds cannot be left empty.

Reality is what we choose to see, It’s all about changing the view.

--

--